Final women’s tennis tournament

General information

The final women’s tennis tournament has been held in Singapore since 2014. Athletes are offered indoor hard courts. The prize fund of the event is about $ 7 million. The tournament grid is designed for 8 pairs and 8 tennis players in singles.


The first tournament was held in 1971. During this time, the competition took place at different times: in 1971, the meeting was held in August, from 1972 to 1974 — in October, from 1975 to 1986 — in March, and after 1986 the tournament was postponed to November.

There is no clear name for this tennis tournament. From 1972 to 1978 and from 1983 to 1994, the event was called the Virginia Slims Championships, from 1979 to 1982. The tournament is known to everyone as the Avon Championships, a little later (from 1996 to 2000) it was renamed the Chase Championships. Since the beginning of the 21st century, the tournament has been renamed several times. Sanex Championships, Home Depot Championships, Sony Ericsson Championships — all these names replaced each other in the first decade of the 21st century.

For 14 years (from 1984 to 1998), the final match was played up to 3 sets. In the final championship, the winner was the one who won more than 2 sets.


There is no Final tennis tournament among women and a clear venue for the competition. Madison Square Garden (New York City Sports Complex) — meetings of athletes were held here most often.
In 2001, the tournament was held for the first time outside the United States. Then the event was held in Munich.


Single discharge
In the early 70s, Chris Evert (America) became a four-time winner of the tournament. In the 80s, Martina Navratilova (USA) shone on the courts of the Final tennis tournament. She became the winner of the meetings 8 times. In the 90s, Steffi Graf (Germany) won the competition 5 times, and Monica Seles (Yugoslavia) — 3 times.

Serena Williams (America) has climbed to the honorary step of the podium 5 times.
The current champion of the final tennis tournament is Dominika Cibulkova, a Slovak tennis player.
Of the Russians, Maria Sharapova won the tournament in 2004.


The most titled couple are Martina Navratilova and Pamela Shriver (representatives of the USA). Their duet from 1981 to 1991 was recognized as the best 10 times.

In 1999 and 2000, Anna Kournikova was able to win together with Martina Hingis, a Swiss tennis player.

In 2016 , the Final tennis tournament in Singapore was won by girls from Russia: Elena Vesnina and Ekaterina Makarova. They played with Bethany Mattek-Sands (USA) and Lucia Shafarzhova (Czech Republic).