Us Open

General information

The US Open Tennis Championship is held in New York and is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments. The competition lasts 2 weeks (late summer — early autumn). Winners are revealed in 9 categories. There are 5 categories for adults, 4 for juniors. The organizer of the sports event is the USA Tennis Association.

A distinctive feature

In the fifth set, when the score is tied, a special shortened game is held to identify the winner, which is called a tie-break.


In August 1881, the first competition was held in Newport (Rhode Island). The meeting was held only for male members of the National Lawn Tennis Association of the USA participating in men’s singles. Richard Sears distinguished himself here.
Since 1900, the games have been held among men’s pairs.
For women, the road to the tournament opened 6 years later (in 1887). The event was then held in Philadelphia. After 2 years, the first women’s doubles tournament was held.
Since 1968, the Open Era begins. The organizers of the event called all the championships the US Open Tennis Championship or the US OPEN. All the athletes then gathered at the West Side club.
Until 1968, the tournament was only for amateur athletes. It is from this year that competitions are held for professional tennis players.


All events are held at the Arthur Ashe Stadium. This famous American tennis player of Negro origin has won as many as 3 Grand Slam tournaments.
The new auditorium, commissioned in 1997, is designed for 23,000 seats. There are also 3 spare courts (with bleachers) and 13 courts (without bleachers).
Deco Turf hardboard is the main covering of the courts. All courts are open.
In 2005, the courts were repainted blue. This is done so that the ball is clearly visible during broadcasts.


All competitions are held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center (located in Flushing Meadows-Corona Park, Queens, New York).


Among the Russians, 7 people distinguished themselves: 5 women and 2 men (Evgeny Kafelnikov, Dinara Safina, Marat Safin, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Maria Sharapova, Ekaterina Makarova, Vera Zvonareva).
If we take the number of titles, then the undisputed leaders are Richard Sears, Larned Bill and Bill Tilden. All these athletes became winners (men’s singles) as many as 7 times.
Margaret Osborne Dupont has succeeded in women. She became the leader of the competition 13 times.